Year by Year ~ 2019 ~

East Coast Rugby Union Season – 2019

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Ngati Porou East Coast Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from 1934 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin

Back to Year by Year Index click here

2019 Status:
Founded 1921 – Affiliated 1921
Name changed to Ngati Porou East Coast 2017
B.N. (Bailey) Mackey
C.W. (Campbell) Dewes
Cushla Tangaere-Manuel
Assistant Coach:
Main ground:
Whakarua Park, Ruatoria
Sky blue and white

Once again it was another winless season for Ngati Porou East Coast in the Heartland Championship. However, there was a definite sign of rejuvenation as the team was certainly a stronger one in both personnel and performance for a number of years, and the fittest for a number of years as well. The supporters also sensed something as Whakarua Park twice had crowds of over 1500 for home games and must be looking forward to the 2020 season.

Only against the two eventual Meads Cup finalists Wanganui and North Otago did the scores blow out and the side held second half leads against West Coast and Poverty Bay. And the scoreline against King Country did not reflect Ngati Porou East Coast’s dominance of possession and territory.

The side secured plenty of possession due to the fine lineout work from Adaam Ross, and his locking partner Scott Lasenby had an excellent all-round game against West Coast. The scrum was comparable to most packs, with prop Laman Davies having his best season, being a strong scrummager. Fellow prop Hakarangi Tichborne missed half the season by being with the NZ Defence Force team in Japan, but still scored four tries in his four games, while Perrin Manuel started at prop and finished at hooker.

Former Chiefs and Maori All Black loose forward Mitchell Crosswell arrived from Taranaki and set a high standard for the others to follow. Hoani Te Moana started the season on the bench but such was his form he was a first choice loose forward in the second half of the season. Captain Hone Haerewa was again the team’s outstanding player, his selection for the NZ Heartland team’s tour was well merited. This loose forward trio was a real strength of the side.

Experienced players Sam Parkes and Verdon Bartlett was not quite as influential as previous seasons but were steady. Debutant Chris Richardson, at first five-eighth, made an encouraging start to his first-class career and second five-eighth Tawhao Stewart (ex Poverty Bay) had an impressive game against Thames Valley.

Not wanted by Waikato, Zac Guildford was a valuable acquisition at centre, as you would expect from the former All Black. He organised the backline and against King Country he played his 200th first-class match, missing the final game through injury. Epeli Lotawa always looked dangerous on the wing and was top tryscorer with six.

Higher honours went to:
New Zealand Heartland: Hone Haerewa

2019 Results

Sat 12 Oct 14:30 H Heartland Championship North Otago 29 - 61
Sat 05 Oct 14:30 A Heartland Championship Poverty Bay 24 - 20
Sat 28 Sep 14:30 H Heartland Championship West Coast 19 - 21
Sat 21 Sep 14:30 A Heartland Championship Wanganui 67 - 24
Sat 14 Sep 14:30 H Heartland Championship King Country 12 - 27
Sat 07 Sep 13:00 A Heartland Championship Thames Valley 43 - 15
Sat 31 Aug 14:30 H Heartland Championship Mid Canterbury 15 - 22
Sat 24 Aug 14:30 A Heartland Championship Buller 54 - 19
Sat 10 Aug 13:00 A Pre-Season BoP Māori 14 - 61
Sat 03 Aug 14:00 A Pre-Season Eastern Bay of Plenty (EBOP) 26 - 19
Sat 01 Jun 13:00 H PJ Sayers Cup Poverty Bay 17 - 29

APPEARANCES For East Coast RFU (2019 - Career)

    Position PL
Placeholder Adaam Ross Lock 8
Placeholder Benny Haerewa Winger 8
Placeholder Billy Manuel Flanker 3
Placeholder BJ Sidney Winger 3
Daniel W. Knubley Hooker 3
David Manuel Winger 7
Placeholder Epeli Lotawa Winger 9
Placeholder Fabyan Kahaki Scrumhalf 1
Placeholder Fale Toleafoa No.8 2
Placeholder Frank C. Taiapa Loose Forward 1
Placeholder Hakarangi Tichborne Prop 6
Placeholder Hamuera Moana Scrumhalf 8
Placeholder Hoani J. Te Moana Flanker 6
Hone Haerewa Winger 11
Placeholder Jack Richardson Loose Forward 5
Jayden Milner Fullback, Winger 3
Placeholder Jesse Rye Centre, Winger 1
Placeholder John Brown Hooker 3
Laman Davies Hooker 9
Placeholder Lorne Boyce-Goldsmith Loose Forward 2
Placeholder Manahi Brooking Loose Forward 1
Placeholder Mitchell Crosswell Loose Forward 9
Placeholder Moana Hape Mato Winger 1
Neihana Ratahi-Brown Winger 1
Pera Patrick Bishop Prop 11
Perrin Joseph Manuel Flanker, Hooker 11
Placeholder Raniera Whakataka Hooker 2
Rikki Kernohan Flanker 3
Placeholder Sailosi Vatubua Centre, Winger 2
Sam.P. Parkes Scrumhalf 8
Placeholder Scott Lasenby Lock 9
Placeholder Sese Tohi Prop 2
Slade Tiopira First Five 1
Placeholder Tawhao M.T.I.W Stewart Centre 8
Placeholder Te Teira (Buchanan) Maxwell 2
Placeholder Tevita Lesivakarua Hooker, No.8 1
Placeholder Tipene Meihana Winger 4
Placeholder Trent Proffit Flanker 7
Verdon R.M. Bartlett Utility Back 8
Placeholder William Martin Winger 8
Placeholder Wyntah Riki Hooker 6
Zac Guildford Centre, Fullback, Winger 8
Placeholder Zane Crooks Fullback 3
Placeholder zPenalty Try 1