East Coast Rugby Union Season – 2014

Back to Year by Year Index click here



2014 Status:
Founded 1921 – Affiliated 1921
Cushla Tangaere-Manuel
Main ground:
Whakarua Park, Ruatoria
Sky blue and white

Nine defeats in nine matches says it all. A major rebuild was required with only nine of last year’s squad returning. Whaimotu Craft-Chemis, Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, Te Rangi Fraser and Ricky Waitoa were all in Bay of Plenty, while Luke Bates, Brent Ingram, Everard Reid and Tau Moeke turned out for Poverty Bay.In total, 42 players were used by East Coast with 22 being debutants. Eleven of the players with experience were recalled, having not been used last year. The most amazing recall of them all was Victor Harrison.

His only previous year playing for East Coast was as a 19-year-old in 1993 when he played seven matches at lock. In 2014, at the age of 40, he played his 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th matches for the province at prop.Behind what was probably the lightest and smallest forward pack in the Heartland Championship, halfback Charlie Harrison was invaluable. His standards never slipped and he finished the season with 99 games for the union. The other back to shine was fullback Kris Palmer, while Robert Ngarimu had a promising debut in midfield. Pamona Samupo and Verdon Bartlett were ever-present starters.

In the forwards, hooker Kareti Palmer stood out, being top try-scorer and playing every game in his debut season. Lock Rhys Walker also had a good debut season, being the regular partner with his captain Pakanui Webb, the most experienced player in the forwards who played his 50th game in the last match. The scrum was a vehicle they could always rely on.


Match.Record: Played 9 ; Lost 9
Points : For 79 ; Against 395

2014 Fixtures & Results

31 May, 14:30 H Poverty Bay PJ Sayers Cup 12 - 28
23 Aug, 14:30 A Poverty Bay Heartland Championship 52 - 12
30 Aug, 14:30 H Buller Heartland Championship 06 - 67
06 Sep, 14:30 A Horowhenua-Kapiti Heartland Championship 37 - 10
13 Sep, 14:30 H Thames Valley Heartland Championship 08 - 21
20 Sep, 14:30 A Wanganui Heartland Championship 44 - 07
27 Sep, 14:30 H Mid Canterbury Heartland Championship 12 - 67
04 Oct, 14:30 H King Country Heartland Championship 07 - 34
11 Oct, 14:30 A North Otago Heartland Championship 45 - 05

APPEARANCES For East Coast RFU 2014

  Name   Position PL
Placeholder John Boy Butler No.8 5
Placeholder Kazius Collier-Delamere No.8 3
Placeholder John Collier Winger 4
Placeholder Des Cook Lock 4
Placeholder Peeti Delamere Centre 5
Placeholder Mahue.M.Dewes Prop 7
Placeholder Tovio Fidow Winger 2
Placeholder Frankie.C. Taiapa Loose Forward 4
Placeholder Harley Floyd Haerewa Winger 3
Placeholder Ara Hailey Centre 1
Placeholder Gareth.S.Hailey Flanker 1
Placeholder C.F.'Charlie' Harrison Scrumhalf 9
Placeholder Donny.A.Harrison First Five 3
Placeholder Victor.R. Harrison Lock 4
Placeholder Kahukuhu Haweti Flanker 6
Placeholder Hoani.J.Te Moana Flanker 1
Placeholder Robert Keepa Lock 1
Placeholder Dion Koopu Utility Back 1
Placeholder Moana.H.Mato Winger 8
Placeholder Patrick.W.McLean Hooker 7
Placeholder M.F.'Storm' Moran Flanker, Winger 2
Placeholder Drummond.J.Morice Prop 3
Placeholder M.I.T.Rangi Morice Hooker, Prop 2
Placeholder Robert Ngarimu Centre 6
Kareti Palmer Hooker 9
Kris Palmer Fullback, Winger 9
Placeholder Ngarimu Parata Flanker 1
Placeholder Selwyn Tanetoa Parata Flanker 5
Placeholder T.R.Matanuku Parata Flanker 8
Pera.P. Bishop Prop 9
Placeholder Henare Tripoli Poi Hooker, Prop 1
Placeholder Anaru Potae Prop 4
Placeholder R.H.H. Dalton-Reedy Centre, Winger 7
Placeholder Pamona Samupo Winger 9
Placeholder Tipuna Tangaere Scrumhalf 1
Verdon.R.M. Bartlett Utility Back 9
Placeholder Haimona Waititi Flanker 1
Placeholder Te Whetu Waitoa Winger 1
Placeholder Corey Walker Winger 8
Rhys.T.T.K.Walker Lock 9
Kahutia Ward Winger 5
Placeholder Pakanui.A.Webb Flanker, Lock 9

We hope you enjoy this look back as we look forward to many more years of recording the history of Ngati Porou East Coast Rugby Union. We acknowledge all the information from the NZ “Rugby Almanack” Series from the season’s 1934 through to 2014 and appreciate their hard and dedicated work in providing this detailed history. Web Admin