Ngāti Porou East Coast

Ground Whakarua Park Ruatōria
Capacity 3,000
Address Whakarua Park, Whakarua Park Rd, Ruatoria 4032


The East Coast Rugby Football Union was formed in 1922 when they split from the Poverty Bay Rugby Football Union.


Ngati Porou East Coast won the NPC 3rd Division twice, first in 1999 defeating Poverty Bay 18-15 in the final at Ruatoria and secondly and more impressively, defeating North Otago in front of their home crowd at Oamaru in a come-from-behind 25-21 victory to record back to back NPC 3rd Division Championships.


East Coast Rugby Football Union is made up of 9 clubs:

  • Hicks Bay
  • Hikurangi Sports Club
  • Ruatoria City Sports Club
  • Tawhiti
  • Tokararangi
  • Tokomaru Bay United
  • Tikirau Victory Club (TVC)
  • Uawa Sports
  • Waiapu

All Blacks

There have had 2 players selected for the All Blacks whilst playing their club rugby in the East Coast.

  • A.C.R Jefferd
  • G. Nepia

East Coast in Super Rugby

East Coast along with Wellington, Wairarapa Bush, Wanganui, Poverty Bay, Hawke’s Bay, Manawatu and Horowhenua-Kapiti make up the Hurricanes Super Rugby region.

Matches against Ngāti Porou East Coast

  • 656Games
  • 142 Wins
  • 17 Draws
  • 497 Losses